Author Topic: We need a tan-a-long  (Read 4033 times)

Offline osage outlaw

We need a tan-a-long
« on: December 24, 2011, 11:50:34 pm »
Would anyone be willing to do a detailed tan-a-long?  I would love to learn how to tan a deer hide and maybe something smaller like a squirrel.  If there is already something like that on here, would someone please point my in the right direction.  Thanks
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Bevan R.

Re: We need a tan-a-long
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2011, 12:57:58 am »
I would be interested also.
Bowmakers are a little bent, but knappers are just plain flaky.

Offline iowabow

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2011, 04:24:33 am »
Well I wish I had read this today I wet scraped a hide.  I have done one so I am no expert.  I think there are two methods that I know of.  Pappy know a lot about tanning.  I will post a few picture of what I am trying over the next few weeks.  I am working one hide hair on and the other hair off.  The first hide I did last week I took the epidermis off.  I started by placing the hide in water over night then fleshing it.  Next I took hard wood ashes and added them to water in a 20 gal tub until I could float an egg on end not on side. This put lye in the hide and makes the hide thick. I left it in the ash for about a week.  Then I worked it on a log with no bark.  I removed the hair and a layer of skin below it.  I then put it in the pond over night.  Then I took it out and rinsed it in a 5 gal bucket with a 1/2 cup of vinegar for 30 minutes.  Then checked to see if all of the lye came out and wash it for an hour with clean water.  Add oil and soap wring.  Then framed and worked with a stick for hours because it was to cold. You should do this on a spring day not winter.   Then I smoked it with rotten log in a bucket of charcoal. I ordered a video on brain tanning and it was great.  This is a good way too learn because you see the process on video and that is much better than