Author Topic: Wild Rose?  (Read 2501 times)

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Wild Rose?
« on: March 06, 2012, 12:26:50 pm »
I was gifted a big bundle of what I think is wild rose. Its the greenish/reddish stuff with thorns on it. I scraped all the bark and cambium off the shoots and bundled them in similar groups of six. How long do they take to season and dry? I have never used them but wanted to try. Im a rookie at primitive shoot shafts. So please enlighten me if you would.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
Re: Wild Rose?
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2012, 12:36:07 pm »
With the bark on it takes about 8 weeks in the summer.  W/O bark it should be less time and it's winter so it's dryer now too.  I usually leave the bark on.  Seems to me that they stay a little straighter.  Unbundle them a few times a week and hand straighten them while they dry, that seems to help too.  Also make sure there is no twist in them when you get them bundled back up.  Rose is a little light, but they seem pretty tough to me. 

Good luck, dpgratz (better known to you as rockstar!)  ;D
(:::.)    Osage music played daily. :)

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2012, 12:37:54 pm »
Thats fast! Thanks rocker
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline bowtarist

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2012, 12:45:10 pm »
You'll be able to tell when they are dry.  When you go to straightn them they should not spring right back to their natural curve as easy when they are dry.  dpg

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2012, 12:55:57 pm »
Are wrapped self nocks okay with this stuff?

Offline bowtarist

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2012, 01:06:55 pm »