Author Topic: first recurve  (Read 3179 times)

Offline jturner

first recurve
« on: March 12, 2012, 09:30:08 pm »
this is the one from an earlier post 62" 3" static tips. this is my first attempt at a recuve.
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline jturner

Re: first recurve
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 09:31:58 pm »
and a couple showing string alignment so far at 1" brace, just got it roughed out. still way heavy.
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2012, 09:34:21 pm »
Check your limb thickness from side to side. A little variance there can make a big difference on string alignment.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline jturner

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2012, 11:03:26 pm »
here it is at a low brace 3 1/2" to back of bow, having trouble getting the limbs the same.
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline Ryan_Gill_HuntPrimitive

« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2012, 11:06:18 pm »
looking good, keep after it, with a last name like turner, you oughta be good at bending them!
Formerly "twistedlimbs"
Gill's Primitive Archery and HuntPrimitive

Offline jturner

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2012, 11:14:12 pm »
That right limb is giving me fits, cant get it to match the other
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline Ryan_Gill_HuntPrimitive

« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2012, 11:17:15 pm »
get it braced up a little higher and try a little heat and a tweak.  dont sweat it too much though, a self recurve is bound to have a little twist ;D
Formerly "twistedlimbs"
Gill's Primitive Archery and HuntPrimitive

Offline jturner

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2012, 01:20:57 am »
thought I posted this but didnt show up. Im still having trouble balancing the limbs, left is 6" to belly at fade right is 6 1/4" where do I need to remove wood?
Jake Turner     Michigan

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2012, 01:27:40 am »