Author Topic: First bow...69" Osage flatbow "memories of the hunt"  (Read 11425 times)

Offline cougarbob

First bow...69" Osage flatbow "memories of the hunt"
« on: March 18, 2012, 02:28:36 pm »
Hello I am new to Primitive Archer and would like to introduce myself and also share with you pictures of my first self bow.   My name is Bob and I am 50 years old. Let me first start by giving you some of my background.  I started archery at a very young age.  My first bow was a recurve which my brothers and I would shoot after school each day. As time passed, I became old enough to hunt and just enjoyed being in the woods with my bow any chance I could get. Missing my share of game only intensified my interest in this great sport and made me strive to overcome the challenges it had to offer. Being lucky enough to have a great hunting partner to share these experiences with made me a very content man. This partner is my son Rob with whom I’ve shared countless memories in the woods with whether it being hunting, trapping, fishing, etc. Recently Rob enlisted in the Navy and has left our Pennsylvania woods to serve our nation.  This has left me with emptiness, which lead me to my interest in building my first bow. With the guidance of my good friend Jon (straightarrow) I started on the mission to build my first bow. Jon skipped some steps and dove me head first into an Osage flatbow. We started with a stave that’s been drying since 1994. I was a little bewildered at first because I did not know the basic steps to achieving my goal. Soon all the pieces of the puzzle would fall into place. First I did a belly split on the stave in which I plan to make a second bow for my son Rob. It wasn’t long before the stave was soon looking like a bow. This process was therapeutic to me missing my son. Sanding, filing, and using the drawknife gave me lots of time to reflect on memories that Rob and I had made together hunting in the October woods.  This is why I picked the name of the bow t