Author Topic: Intro, Black Locust Scalloped Bow  (Read 7332 times)

Offline Badly Bent

Intro, Black Locust Scalloped Bow
« on: June 17, 2012, 07:20:10 pm »
Time for me to introduce myself, been lurking here a few years and really enjoy seeing all the great bows. My lack of computer skills have only allowed me to log in and view to this point, wife helping me today so hopefully this post will work. I've been making selfbows and hunting with them for about 14 yrs. now, yes Im an addict. I want to post a bow today to share with you guys that have shown me all your wonderful works since I discovered this site. This is a great website with a lot of friendly and helpful members. If my photos work I have other bows that I would like to post in the near future.  Now the bow;                                                                                                                             Black Locust, belly split from 12 yr. seasoned stave, side profile is natural dips, dives, etc. no heat corrections. Bow took about 3/4" set in tillering, pretty dense bl I believe. Tiller not perfect (mine never are thats why I choose the user name 'Badly Bent') . 54# @ 25" with double scallops on sides. Some thump in the hand when shooting but cast is good with a heavy hunting arrow and there are no chrysals on the belly even after one year of hard use. This one spent many days with me in the deer woods last season. Hope you enjoy seeing it. Greg
I ain't broke but I'm badly bent.

Offline dmc

Re: Intro, Black Locust Scalloped Bow
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2012, 07:28:44 pm »
Beautiful bow. Really like how you brought out the characteristics of the wood. Thanks for the pics, and welcome to this forum. These guys and gals are great, and free with great advice.
Carpe Diem- Seize the Day!!

Offline missilemaster

« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2012, 07:30:50 pm »
very nice bow!!!  Welcome to the family.
All men die,  few men ever really live.

Real men love Jesus.

Offline SA