Author Topic: Help! Recurve bow process?  (Read 14543 times)

Offline SirTony

Help! Recurve bow process?
« on: June 29, 2012, 12:27:04 am »
Hello everyone, I'm new to both bow building and PrimitiveArcher so I was wondering if anyone could help me out with some Recurve bow plans? (I'm a total newbie but I wouldn't like anything simple)  ;)

The bow I want to make is for a 15 year old 66'' tall (It's more of a Youth Recurve Bow)

What I'm trying to learning is:

-How to make a recurve bow jig (Any type of recurve)

-Selecting wood combinations

-How to cut the wood

-How to glue the wood together

-(Plans, blueprints, etc) of how to make the recurve bow (Limbs, grip, nocks, etc)

-Other ways of heating the bow other than using a heat box

-How to make an arrow shelf

- Pretty much EVERYTHING in a detailed way because I cant be more newbier haha...

If you can, please take photos so I you can guide me thru the process

I know I'm asking a lot but I know there will be some kind gentlemen that will help this poor guy make a bow for his son  :-[

Thank you all in advance

Tony

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
Re: Help! Recurve bow process?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2012, 05:38:14 am »
So you are basically asking: "How do I build a recurve?" Wow, that's a lot to ask. Where can we start? I would advice you to start reading. Not just jump in, but read every tutorial and build along you can find. What have you done so far? Any experience in wood working? Did you read any books? You would be really helped by reading the Traditional Bowyers Bible vol. 1. And then read it again. This book is ab-so-lu-te-ly obligatory to read for every self respecting bowyer, in my opinion.

Here are some tutorials for you to start with:
http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/topic/6220/How-To-Build-And-Use-A-Simple-Caul
http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/topic/14560/How-I-Steambend-Now-With-Photos
http://paleoplanet69529.yuku.com/topic/17343/Establishing--Stave-Curriculum--Approach--Turning--Stave---B