Author Topic: Tru Oil  (Read 5992 times)

Offline andybutrick

Tru Oil
« on: October 31, 2012, 12:51:55 am »
I am ready now to glue up my first reflex/deflex hickory bow, pyramid pre-tillered and shot as a D bow, now adding a hickory backing.  I think I'm on the right track, mostly by feel.  I am a poor man bow builder.  I spend many hours sculpting the wood that I bend to send an arrow straight and true.  Will Tru Oil preserve hickory to not be so moisture sensitive?

Offline Weylin

Re: Tru Oil
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2012, 01:39:03 am »
Nothing will prevent hickory from being moisture sensitive. The sealers only slow down the moisture exchange not prevent it. Your bow's MC will eventually equalize with whatever the relative humidity is in it's environment. What you can do is store it indoors in a dry place. If you are only taking it out to shoot for the day it wont have time to take on much moisture and then you can put it back inside.

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2012, 10:12:19 am »
I usually give my bows 3 coats of spar urethane. It won't prevent the moisture exchange Weylin spoke off but I've found that if I get caught in a downpour it makes a great waterproofer so the grain doesn't get raised on the bow. It is usually pretty dry  in NH during the winter when I make my bows so humidity is not an issue then. In the summer the bows stay in AC which controls the humidity. Hickory needs to be dry when making the bow. 6-8% moisture content is what I shoot for. Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline tom sawyer

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2012, 05:31:13 pm »
Tru-oil is an expensive way to finish a bow.  I'd suggest Formby's tung oil finish for a cheaper oil finish alternative.  Comes in high gloss or low.
Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2012, 05:42:24 pm »