Author Topic: Boards -vs- Staves  (Read 7606 times)

Offline Wooden Spring

Boards -vs- Staves
« on: December 20, 2012, 05:46:32 pm »
OK, as I look around on the forums (yes, I'm new to bowmaking) I see folks making bows out of trees that they've carefully split and followed the grain... Then I see bows that are made from store bought boards where the manufacturer may or may not have cut a decent board...

Is there a significant difference in the finished product assuming all else is the same? (considering bow design, wood choice, etc. are all equal) I'm not talking about aesthetics, I'm talking about "meat on the table-or not" differences...

I'm just curious since my bowmaking endeavors so far have been strictly limited to what I call "decent" boards that I pick up from my local hardwoods supplier. For instance - My ipe comes from decking boards 12' long... My hickory comes from 4/4 sawn planks of varrying lengths... Am I shooting myself in the foot here by not getting staves?
"Everything that moves shall be food for you..." Genesis 9:3

Offline k-hat

Re: Boards -vs- Staves
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 06:03:23 pm »
Nope, no fletchings sticking out of your foot. ;)

It may be true that, for example, a hickory stave will have better integrity and could yield a higher safe draw weight than a hickory board, but you're talking about a difference that exists way above most people's draw weight.  An 80# hickory board bow would be fine, but some would prefer to use a stave for draw weights much higher than that.  At normal weights i would say it's purely aesthetics.  Of course you do have to be more picky choosing boards than staves.

Some people make classy bows from boards and never use staves.  Depends on what's available. 

BTW, some would say a board is no different from a decrowned stave (excepting the kiln drying).

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2012, 06:15:50 pm »