Author Topic: Arrows needed  (Read 3781 times)

Offline webrx

Arrows needed
« on: March 04, 2013, 10:14:10 am »
Hi again,

New guy here, just build my first board bow, but now I need the right arrows.  The ones I have are way too stiff (they are easton 2216 lights used in my compound - 65lb pull).  I am guessing, should know later today, that my self bow is around 40 to 45 at 28".  no cut in the riser, the arrow has to wrap around the bow which is 1 and 1/4 inch wide at the center.

my current arrows definately start and stay left when shooting so I am pretty sure (remember im a newbie) I need something with a softer spine.

While I am a tinkerer, the thought of making and fletching arrows seems a little daunting to me right now, though I may try it down the road (saw the hd bamboo arrow build thread).

As with a lot of folks, money is tight right now, so, any recommendations on some inexpensive arrows for my 72" red oak selfbow? Anyone have some arrows that will work on this bow they may want to trade for something?  Being a newbie here, I would be willing to use a middle man for the trade to ensure we both get what we agreed too.

Thanks

Dave
Experience - that thing you get just moments after you needed it.

Offline bigpapa

• all the senorita's call me bigpapa
Re: Arrows needed
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 10:20:17 am »
Do you live in an area with river cane? You might be able to work out some trades that way.
Our only limitations in life are the ones we put on ourselves!
Dream your dreams, and fly like the eagles!

Offline twisted hickory

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 09:52:18 pm »
try red osier that is 29.5 to the back of point. Make the arras weigh between 10- 11 grains per pound with 125 grain points installed that should put you in the ball park....I am kinda new but after building 3 dozen arras for one bow that seems to be the foumula that works for me. If they fly a little stiff go w 160 gr point. If they are a little weak go with 100 gr points.