Author Topic: Hazelnut bow build-a-long (fixed pictures)  (Read 285647 times)

Offline FlintWalker

Re: Hazelnut bow build-a-long
« Reply #105 on: November 22, 2007, 08:09:04 pm »
Very nice build-a-long Gordon, i'm really enjoying it! Just how much strength does silk add to the back of a bow?  I'm pretty new at this kind of stuff and my first thought of silk is that it's pretty thin, how can it add much strength?   I'm not doubting it, I just don't understand it.
Be thankfull for all you have, because no matter how bad you think it is...it can always be worse.

Offline Gordon

« Reply #106 on: November 22, 2007, 08:23:45 pm »
Shannon, silk is incredibly strong for its weight. It will add a surprising amount of protection to the back.
Gordon

Offline FlintWalker

« Reply #107 on: November 22, 2007, 08:28:17 pm »
How does it compare to thin rawhide?
Be thankfull for all you have, because no matter how bad you think it is...it can always be worse.

Offline Gordon

« Reply #108 on: November 22, 2007, 09:24:26 pm »
I'm not sure Shannon. I've never had a bow break that was backed with either rawhide or silk. I'll have to defer to others more knowledgable to answer your question.
Gordon

Offline Loki

« Reply #109 on: November 22, 2007, 09:47:50 pm »
This is really good Bowyering,the Bow's looking wonderful!

I perform this step in natural light because the smallest flaws are nearly invisible in artificial light, but show themselves readily when the finish is applied.

Maybe one of the reasons it was illegal for bowyers in medieval England to work after sundown.
Andy
Durham,England

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #110 on: November 23, 2007, 09:58:48 am »
Outstanding buildalong, Gordon. To answer the question, rawhide is stronger than silk but silk will do the job of keeping the back together most of the time. I've used  it and have felt and seen splintering through the silk but the stuff kept the splintering down. Jawge
Set Happens!