Author Topic: 60 yr old Osage help!  (Read 6264 times)

ftanner

60 yr old Osage help!
« on: May 10, 2013, 11:36:48 pm »
My grandfather gave me an Osage orange log he cut nearly 60 years ago. It has been stored in his basement since and is rock hard. He was going to make a bow but didn't get the chance so he gave it to me. I'm fairly new to bow making...I've made a few mainly pyramid style red oak and hickory flat bows (2 turned out pretty decent). Needless to say, still learning. Any suggestions on where to start? Style? Dimensions? I've never worked with osage orange. Given how old it is, and that it's from my grandpa, I would hate to mess up the wood. It is about 7 feet long, 7 inches wide and 3-4 inches thick. Thanks!

Offline bow101

Re: 60 yr old Osage help!
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2013, 11:39:06 pm »
Wow I have an old piece of yew and it is hard as a rock, cut some strips from it, they just explode..... :o
"The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are."  Joseph Campbell

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 11:51:25 pm »
The older the wood, the easier to chase rings.  Oldest I ever played with was cut just after the civil war, they were beams in a milk house in Missouri until the late 1980's.  Pity I was such an idiot that I ruined the one workable stave trying to impress a young lady of obvious charms.

You got a draw knife?
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Joec123able

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2013, 11:56:18 pm »
Looks like you could get 2 bows out of it I'd definetly take it slow on it don't rush that's my advice. Wood that old may need some moisture added to it
I like osage

Offline Josh B

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2013, 12:32:41 am »
Looks like you could get 2 bows out of it I'd definetly take it slow on it don't rush that's my advice. Wood that old may need some moisture added to it

Moisture added to it? ???  Care to elaborate on that?