Author Topic: some newbie ?s  (Read 2272 times)

Offline Tom Kurth

some newbie ?s
« on: September 14, 2013, 12:13:17 am »
As a woodworker I hold to the philosophy that every piece of wood has a particular destiny so when I came across a piece of red oak 3/4" x 3 1/2" x 56" with straight, flat growth-rings, it spoke to me of a flat bow though I knew it was probably beyond my meager skills as a novice bowyer. I shaped it as a pyramid style bow (2 5/8" wide) and added siyahs (sp?) to make it 60 3/4" nock to nock. At this point it weighs 53# at 28".

My questions: 1) As I've tillered it, I mark a spot that needs work and take a little off. I check it and all seems well--problem area solved. A few short draws and check again. Same spot needs work--over and over again. Is this typical? Or am I doing something wrong? Or am I just an impatient so-and-so?

2) It has taken some set--about 1 1/2". I've read so much here and elsewhere so I get a little confused sometimes. Red oak has a tendency to take set? Am I right? And can I help this by heat treating? Can somebody direct me to a nutshell on heat treating?

3) When it comes time for finishing, I like to use a home-made wiping varnish (one part varnish, one part mineral spirits, one part boiled linseed oil) on many projects. I know it's not the most durable, but is it otherwise a reasonable choice for a bow that probably won't see harsh weather?

Thanks for any help. I'll post some pics when I can nail down the teen-ager in this house for some computer help.

Best,
Tom
Best,
Tom

Escape to Missouri

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
Re: some newbie ?s
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 12:35:57 am »
1) It happens, don't sweat it too much. You might try turning the bow around so you're not getting used to expecting any one flaw.

2) Yeah, in my short experience with RO (don't like the stuff) it takes some set. I think if you heat the belly and trap the back it'll help.

3) Yessireebob.
50#@26"