Author Topic: Dealing with disabilities. Looking for help.  (Read 4038 times)

Offline usmcsgt

• David Hopwood
Dealing with disabilities. Looking for help.
« on: December 04, 2013, 09:34:10 pm »
Hello Gents,

I am a disabled Marine war vet. I have several disabilities and some that affect my ability to make bows and arrows and I am looking to see what other bowyers do that helps them with their handicaps.  I have arthritis in both hands and shoulders. I also have shattered vertebrae that didn't heal right so, that also limits my abilities some.

Basically what happened lately was, I have been going to the VA for treatment and therapy and have been told that I need to find another way/method to go about making bows, making arrows and flint knapping. I prefer to use hand tools. As most of you know, there is a lot of repetitive motion involved.

The parts of me that are affected most are my shoulders, elbows and hands. It's mostly arthiritis and tendinitis that I have issues with.

This also affects my ability to shoot as well and I guess learning proper form is another important thing.

Thanks guys!

Offline Blaflair2

Re: Dealing with disabilities. Looking for help.
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2013, 09:41:56 pm »
Learn how to make all wood lam bows. A lot of the tiller can be done with tapered lams like fiberglass bows. Mostly power tools are used. So less stress on your joints
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Blaflair2

« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2013, 09:43:07 pm »
Learn how to make all wood lam bows. A lot of the tiller can be done with tapered lams like fiberglass bows. Mostly power tools are used. So less stress on your joints
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Badger

« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2013, 09:47:33 pm »