Author Topic: Drill press question  (Read 3659 times)

Offline Stoker

Drill press question
« on: February 12, 2014, 04:49:21 pm »
I got a Canadain tire mastercraft 12" table top model... So I'm drilling my holes through the handle of my HBC knife I'm working on getting ready to harden.. Drill press is working fine and half way through the first hole as I'm putting a pressure on the chuck stops turning.. Motor still spinning no weird sounds.. Let up starts spinning again... Does it again.. Belt problem check it out.. Could use another no problem, go get, change... Still doing it... Chuck is lose coming out of it's taper... Hammer, block of wood, giver a coupla whacks feels tight didn't seam to move.. I grab the chuck with one hand and the pulley with the other giver a spin... Nothing... there is some kind of interior shaft in the shaft that the pulley is mounted on... Really >:( >:(
How hard is it to bang this shaft out? I figure a wooden dowel and start with the nonangry hammer first.. It's only like a $200.00 press and 10 years old But I never abused this drill still looks good.. Might of drilled couple thousand holes... Very disappointed
Any advice is welcome
Thanks Leroy
Bacon is food DUCT tape - Cipriano

Offline bow101

Re: Drill press question
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2014, 06:07:57 pm »
I have my share of stuff from C-Tire thats not worth 2 bits.  If you buy anywhere from a store go to Sears and get it on sale.
I know the name brand stuff is pricey like Makita, dewalt, Porter Cable etc... but they will out last you.. ;)
"The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are."  Joseph Campbell

Offline Mohawk13

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2014, 06:11:50 pm »
Sounds like Your brushes have gone bad. check to see if there are access holes on the side of the motor(un plug it first)...should look like slotted screws. The little wire and lead things inside are the contact brushes. They wear down and need replaced occassionaly