Author Topic: juniper bow design.  (Read 8190 times)

Offline Turtle dragon

juniper bow design.
« on: March 13, 2014, 01:44:21 am »
I've recently come across a beautiful juniper log around sixfoot long and 3-4 inches thick. I know most designs for juniper are similar to English style long bows, which I have some experience making. I'd like to try a flat bow design, similar to that of
Osage bow. would there be any problem with that design? or should I stick with the trusty long bow?

Offline Wiley

Re: juniper bow design.
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2014, 01:54:48 am »
Do you know the species of juniper?

The only ones I have really looked into was eastern red cedar (its a juniper). If it has similar mechanical properties to that and I wanted a flat bow I would want to back it with something. Tends to be much better in compression than in tension, which if I understand it right is why the ELB is an effective design for it with the back being larger than the belly those forces are brought closer to being equal. With a flatbow you will probably need something able to take the tension.

Feel free to correct me if i'm wrong but this seems to make sense in my head.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2014, 02:06:52 am by Wiley »

Offline Turtle dragon

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2014, 02:11:44 am »
Common juniper from the sierras above 8000 feet. What if I was able to Include sapwood in the backing? most juniper long bows have a sapwood backing, although I understand it's not entirely necessary with a self-long bow

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2014, 02:20:46 am »
Juniper makes a great short bow! Best when the heartwood is backed with sinew.
If you want a selfbow make it as short as possible while still keeping it in a safe margin of reason ability.

From talking with Keenan and other juniper addicts it makes a sluggish longbow (as far as common juniper concerned)  :(

Have fun! Juniper is some fun wood to work :D
Clatskanie, Oregon