Author Topic: Spining bamboo garden stakes  (Read 2598 times)

Don Case

Spining bamboo garden stakes
« on: June 18, 2014, 07:27:36 pm »
Is it OK to roughly spine the bamboo before straightening? I don't see any point in wasting time straightening them if they are going to stay as garden stakes.

Offline lebhuntfish

• If the wood will bend, I'll make it beautiful!
Re: Spining bamboo garden stakes
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 11:31:45 pm »
I'm no expert but I wouldn't think it wouldn't hurt to kinda sort them out. That being said the spine could change a little when you straighten them depending on how much heat you have to use to get them straight. Also if you decid to heat treat them too. JMO Patrick.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2014, 01:03:20 am by lebhuntfish »
Once an Eagle Scout, always an Eagle Scout!

Missouri, where all the best wood is! Well maybe not the straightest!

Building a bow has been the most rewarding, peaceful, and frustrating things I have ever made with my own two hands!

Offline stringstretcher

• Traditionalarcherycommunitysite.com
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 05:23:56 am »
When you find out how to spine one that is not straightened, let me know?

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2014, 11:49:17 am »
I always spine mine before straightening.  I sort them by 30's, 40's, 50's and so on.  After I straighten the shafts I'll check the spine again and sort them into smaller groups. 
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2014, 12:25:59 pm »
I never spine cane except to find the stiff side that goes against the bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Don Case

« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2014, 12:33:18 pm »
When you find out how to spine one that is not straightened, let me know?