Author Topic: Arrow and broad head questions for whitetail  (Read 7008 times)

Offline Brik

Arrow and broad head questions for whitetail
« on: August 05, 2014, 04:34:06 pm »
Hello all. This is my first time posting here and also my first year I'll be hunting with a primitive bow. First off I have shoulder problems and can't really draw more than 40 lbs. My bow is 40lbs at 28 but I draw 26.5 after talking to the Boyer who made the bow we figured I was drawing 36lbs. I have been doing lots of research and found that plenty have killed deer with this weight but I just want to make sure it is as humane as possible. I. Currently using beman center shot 600 at 29 inches. I get really good groups to 20 yards. My questions are first is this arrow going to be good enough to shoot a dee @ 20 or less yards or should I go with with something like victories vap arrows or Easton's carbon injections to get better penetration? My 2nd question was about broad heads. I'm leaning to the silver flame broad heads bc from my research they are very very good but at my draw weight is it possible to shoot a single bevel broad head like the werewolves and would a single bevel be better or worse for my poundage? I just want to make sure it is as humane as possible and I don't lose a deer. Thank you all in advance.     

Offline steve.b

Re: Arrow and broad head questions for whitetail
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 05:25:42 pm »
You've left a lot of variables out. What is the design of your bow? What is the Force curve when you draw it. Different designs store more/less energy for a given final draw length, some are more efficient than others.

How much energy you store in the bow, and how much is imparted to the arrow on release based on the bows efficiency will all determine how much kenetic energy the arrow has when it leaves the bow. It's perfectly possible to build a bow that imparts half the kenetic energy of differently designed bow with the same draw weight.