Author Topic: Accuracy for most humane shots with a self bow  (Read 17669 times)

Offline jrmeza

Accuracy for most humane shots with a self bow
« on: December 30, 2014, 05:24:08 pm »
Hey there PA board, I got some more noobie question! These however pertain more to hunting. I have never hunted, and I am just starting out on archery, my first shots ever fired coming from my own self bow. I like to jump right into the thick of it I guess! Also I am not in a hurry, It's winter already and I just started shooting, maybe next year...

ANYWAY, I am wondering how accurate one should aspire to be to start hunting when shooting a simple stick-bow off the hand and with no sights. I read on another websight that they feel comfortable taking shots on whitetails from 40 yrds away, too which I say HA. However that was not a traditional bow website, they they may have sights and more modern recurves. Maybe that makes a difference. I mean, where I am at right now, I think I could definitely hit a whitetail from that far, but I just don't see how they can comfortably aim for a clean heart shot at that kind of distance.

Right now, I am consistently getting within the 7.5 inch diameter circle on my target at 35 FEET, with an occasional flub of a shot. And maybe 1 or 2 out of 6 shots will be a bulls eye which is 2.5 inches in diameter. Is that any good for a noobie with no sites or arrow rest? What accuracy at what distance is recommended to even think about beginning to hunt with bows like these?

Oh and, since I am new to archery in general, is it recommended to get a cheap fiberglass bow with arrow rest  for practice while I am still learning?

« Last Edit: December 30, 2014, 05:27:26 pm by jrmeza »

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Accuracy for most humane shots with a self bow
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 08:43:17 pm »
I would say any deer within 35 ft of you is as good as in the skillet.  Keep up the practice and add a few yards every now and then.