Author Topic: Holmegaard build along  (Read 106682 times)

Offline adb

Holmegaard build along
« on: January 26, 2008, 06:58:08 pm »
Hi, Everyone

Well... here we go. As requested, a Holmegaard build along. I have been commissioned to build a Holmegaard bow. 66", hickory backed osage, pin nocks, 52 - 57# @ 27". This will be a backed board bow. Not exactly primitive. I will also be using power tools, namely a bandsaw. Final tillering, of course, will be done by hand.
I am by no means an expert. I certainly don't profess same. This is the way I do it. I'm sure some will disagree, but I've been very pleased with how these bows have turned out.
For today, I've done the glue-up. Pictures to follow.

Offline adb

Re: Holmegaard build along
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2008, 07:04:05 pm »
First pic is of my gluing form. 3 pieces of 3/4" plywood glued together, which makes it 2 1/4" wide. 78" long. 2 1/2" thick. The top surface has been run over a joiner to make it dead flat. Then, I tape the surface with clear packing tape, so the glue won't stick to it. The middle section has been left thicker, so I can place it in the vice. I've drilled a large hole through to allow a clamp at mid section.

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: January 26, 2008, 07:18:52 pm by adb3112 »

Offline adb

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2008, 07:08:34 pm »
As mentioned, this will be a hickory backed osage bow. I'm using 1/8" hickory, 2" wide, cut quarter sawn, so the grain runs full length, with no grain run-off. The osage is 68", rift sawn, nice straight grain, running full length, again, with minimal run-off, and no knots. Both boards, I have cut myself.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2008, 01:27:44 pm by adb3112 »

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2008, 07:30:57 pm »