Author Topic: New guy from Canada...  (Read 6581 times)

Offline Johnny K

New guy from Canada...
« on: March 27, 2015, 12:29:14 pm »
Hi all,

I figured I'd introduce myself:
My name is John, and I live in Alberta, Canada. I'm quite new to archery and bow building, currently working on my first "real" bow, a tri-lam pyramid longbow. Really like this site, already found a lot of useful info here, and hope to learn much more!

Anyone else from the Edmonton area? I'm having a hard time finding good suppliers of bow wood/staves out here...

Thanks,
John

pics are of the tri-lam... I have realized that I made the limbs way too thick... now for some serious sanding  :) ...
If this bow breaks, I'll build another. If it doesn't............. I'll still build another.

Offline bubbles

• PM110769
Re: New guy from Canada...
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 12:49:29 pm »
Hey John, welcome to PA.  I'm  from Toronto, but Im sure there are sme guys around you.
A good spokeshave will reduce that belly down to floor tiller pretty quick if you have good grain. Sanding would take a while, unless you have a good belt sander.  Ferriers rasp would also be good.
Also, is that 2 backings spliced together in the handle or am I crazy?

Offline Johnny K

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2015, 12:59:43 pm »
Hi bubbles, Thanks for the welcome!

You're not crazy, that is a splice in the middle... I had a terrible time finding something with a straight grain that long... I figured that, as my handle is non-bending, it couldn't hurt to make a two-piece backing... it's maple almost 1/4" thick.

Thanks for the tool suggestions, I have a ferrier's rasp and might try that, but as I mean to keep the belly flat, I think my best bet is the belt sander. (The belly is oak, sands really easy...)   

Thanks,
John
If this bow breaks, I'll build another. If it doesn't............. I'll still build another.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2015, 03:25:03 pm »