Author Topic: Making a very Primitive Bow  (Read 7699 times)

Offline PierreZFP

Making a very Primitive Bow
« on: May 04, 2015, 11:41:28 am »
Hi All
I have been digging into this excellent forum for a bit and now I have some questions to put if I may.
I know how to shoot as I've been shooting for around 25 years now (mostly recurve but also English Longbow and Compound) but I have never made a bow.
The questions concern an approach by a film maker who is making a movie based on a fictional life of Otzi the Iceman.  For those not familiar with Otzi, he is a remarkably well preserved mummy found in the ice in the Italian Tyrol.  He dates from around 3500 BC and was found with a copper axe and a quiver full  of arrows amongst other things.  He was also shot in the back with an arrow and died from his wound.
So, in the film, the actor playing Otzi needs a primitive bow appropriate to the time period (5000+ years ago).  I am thinking I could attempt to make such a thing and that it would be a good project to learn on then make a better bow for myself.
On my bit of land, I have many beech trees of various sizes, would a stave from one of these be suitable?  I am not hung up on only using stone/copper tools as long as the result looks OK.  Also, the actor has no shooting skills so I'm looking at a max 30 pound bow.
Any thoughts or guidance is much appreciated, thank you

Offline son of massey

Re: Making a very Primitive Bow
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 12:07:20 pm »
Otzi had a bow stave with him that would be a reasonable starting point for design. You will probably be in the somewhat long straight limb design, so it should be a reasonably simple bow to turn out, especially if you restrict the weight and draw length for the non-archer actor.