Author Topic: Hello all, new member from Vermont  (Read 4786 times)

vtbow

Hello all, new member from Vermont
« on: June 26, 2015, 09:22:56 pm »
Hello folks, I've never built a bow before, but my 9 year old daughter asked for an archery set for her birthday last week, and friends of the family gave her a plastiic bow. I'm an old wooden boatbuilder, and not keen on plastic. To help her learn I dug out an old Fred Bear Bearcat that I probably haven't shot since the 70's. Needless to say she seemed to be doing better than I was after about 15 minutes of practice!

Anyway, this all rekindled my interest in shooting, and I started thinking about making us both bows some day. I found this forum and started reading, and I'm already hooked. This is the kind of bow i want -- modern stuff leaves me cold.

I have 67 acres of woodland, and I built my own bandsaw mill from scratch -- built my house with that a dozen years ago. After reading here I started looking at what I have availble for wood. My woods are mostly hemlock, white pine, black (sweet) and yellow birch, red oak, ash, red and sugar maple, cherry, beech. I've never seen hickory here. I have occasional hop hornbeam, witch hazel, and elm. I do have two 80 foot elms I'm trying to protect by keeping the smaller elms near it cut down -- to keep the Dutch elm beetles far enough away. The disease tends to follow an "elm trail" of smaller seeded elms cast by the big tree, killing the small ones at about 20 -40 feet in height.

Anyway I now can see a use for the culls, and, waiting for my registration to come through tonight, I went out and cut one of the small ones with a straight trunk and twisted top stuck in the understory in a nearby hedgerow. I got a good 6 foot butt section about 6" diameter. Wondering what my next step is -- peeling or splitting -- and into how many sections?

Here's a pic:

Offline Tillstave

Re: Hello all, new member from Vermont
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2015, 10:19:40 pm »