Author Topic: Benchtop vise question  (Read 7089 times)

Offline Isleepu

Benchtop vise question
« on: July 09, 2015, 05:47:28 pm »
I have been shooting a bow since I was 9 years old. Always wheels until last year when I picked up my first longbow. Got my first selfbow about 2 months ago and I want to learn to build them. I need a vise. Do I get a benchtop multipurpose vise or a traditional, side mount, woodworking vise?

Side note, does anyone else find the Post "Verification" section of this website completely absurd? I love this site but, posting is not user friendly.   

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
Re: Benchtop vise question
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2015, 05:49:54 pm »
Verification goes away after a little while. Had to deal with it setting up the 2015 trade officiator account ;)

I built my first few dozen bows without using a vice or clamps (except for on jigs), they're a very useful tool but a bit of a luxury.
50#@26"
Black locust. Black locust everywhere.
Mollegabets all day long.
Might as well make them short, save some wood to keep warm.

Offline Isleepu

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2015, 06:01:00 pm »
Glad to know that the verification goes away.
I guess what I should have asked is, does either type of vise hold an advantage over the other? My thinking is that a multipurpose benchtop vise will be more versatile than a traditional side mount woodworking vise. 

Offline DC

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2015, 06:20:27 pm »
I think the benchtop would be better just from an access point of view. Trying to use a drawknife or scraper on a side mount would just be asking for barked knuckles. But, I have never used a sidemount. I have a good Record 4" vice but if I had to do it again I would get a swiveling benchtop vise. Hopefully they are better than they used to be. Twenty five years ago (when I bought mine) the locking devise on any swivel vise I saw was crap. If they work properly I can see the swivel being very handy.

Offline PEARL DRUMS