Author Topic: questions about wooden dowels.  (Read 8124 times)

Offline Predictable

questions about wooden dowels.
« on: July 20, 2015, 11:06:08 pm »
i've never done this before, so i have a couple questions. i bought some 3/8" dowels today.

for straightening a dowel that will be used as an arrow, can i use heat (fire), or do i steam bend?

also, should i fire harden the entire dowel? or maybe the tip area?

Offline bow101

Re: questions about wooden dowels.
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 12:00:00 am »
Question 1 = nope, Question 2 = nope, Question 3 = nope    3/8" shafts are monsters, the most common for wood shafts is 11/32".  And they have to be spined to your bow within a few pounds.   I straighten shafts by eying them down the entire length as I turn them in my hand and bend them.
"The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are."  Joseph Campbell

Offline Little John

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2015, 12:09:38 am »
You can put one end on a table or hard surface and roll the shaft till the hump comes up to the top then push down  and try again till it gets straight. Some you might have to burnish the high spot against a hard surface. Most dowels are not too good so be pickey when selecting.     Kenneth
May all of your moments afield with bow in hand please and satisfy you.            G. Fred Asbell

Offline Predictable

« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2015, 03:05:49 pm »
Question 1 = nope, Question 2 = nope, Question 3 = nope    3/8" shafts are monsters, the most common for wood shafts is 11/32".  And they have to be spined to your bow within a few pounds.   I straighten shafts by eying them down the entire length as I turn them in my hand and bend them.

3/8 of an inch is 0.375 of an inch.
11/32 of an inch is 0.344 of an inch, does this difference really make 3/8" shafts monsters?

Offline Predictable

« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2015, 03:07:52 pm »