Author Topic: elbow sore after shooting- what to do?  (Read 6426 times)

Offline richpierce

elbow sore after shooting- what to do?
« on: February 11, 2008, 06:48:40 pm »
I am getting a sore elbow after shooting and it lasts a couple of days.  Am I doing something wrong or is it jsut being old?  I am 55 and am shooting bows from 45-54 pounds.  I am just getting started shooting longbows I've made after being out of archery for 15 years.  I had compounds in the past but have no desire to do that now.

Should I get someone to look at my form, are there exercises, etc?

wvfknapper

Re: elbow sore after shooting- what to do?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2008, 08:58:01 pm »
How many arrows are you shooting at a session? Try cutting back on the amount of time you spend shooting,, I wore my shoulder out one weekend and it was a week before I could even pick my bow up,  so don't overdo it.

wvflintknapper

Offline DanaM

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2008, 09:11:04 pm »
See a doctor and rule anything serious out, then just build up to it. Are you locking your elbow out?
And holding the draw to long?
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline donnieonetrack

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2008, 01:29:07 pm »
Rich, I bet it's your string arm, I've had elbow problems for the last year in my drawing arm.  I'm taking joint care herbs but not seeing much improvement.  I shoot a couple of times a week and have been shooting for 40 years.

Let me know if you find something that works,

Take care,

Donnie   
Donnie Wilkerson
Gainesville, Florida

Offline richpierce

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2008, 02:11:07 pm »