Author Topic: Honey locust bow wood?  (Read 9825 times)

Offline DanD

Honey locust bow wood?
« on: January 02, 2016, 06:32:21 pm »
I have permission to cut as much honey locust as I want, but I'm new to the bowyer world and was wondering if it is good bow wood, I know Osage is king and find it difficult to get permission to harvest, there is Osage around my area but have not been successful in obtaining permission. So in the meantime honey locust the the wood available.

Dan
Some things in life change but my love for archery never changes

Offline DavidV

Re: Honey locust bow wood?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2016, 08:05:22 pm »
I've worked with it a little bit but i wouldn't say it's good bow wood...It will make a bow. Make sure to overbuild it, flat and wide. It will tend to take set if you don't heat treat the belly and I've had problems with crysalling near knots.

That said it's a beautiful wood and a joy to work so if you can find good straight pieces it would be worth it to cut.
Springfield, MO

riverrat

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2016, 09:58:49 am »
its all in the tillering :) . Tony

Offline DanD

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2016, 11:32:30 am »
Tillering is the challenging part for me and the only way to learn is keep building bows. I think I will cut some in the next week or 2, do i need to let this season a year or can I rough out a bow and bring it in the house for 3 months or so before making a bow?

Offline Badger

« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2016, 11:40:23 am »
  If I had a super clean piece of wood with a low crown I might try it. I don't really consider honey locust to be a viable bow wood. Extra wide paddle type bow with a short draw can make a snappy shooter.

Offline TimPotter

« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2016, 12:20:35 pm »
"LOCUST, honey .66 A little less dense than black locust.. One of the prettier woods. Its sapwood is about twice as thick as that of black locust. Thorns grown on both trunk and branches"

From Tim Baker's article on bow wood.