Author Topic: need advice on Black Locust staves  (Read 2587 times)

Offline timmyd

need advice on Black Locust staves
« on: March 15, 2016, 11:20:55 pm »
Hi all...need some help here. I split these black locust staves on Saturday, sealed the ends. I left them wide to help against warping. I've built quite a few hickory self bows but this is my first time working with Black Locust so I could use some advice. To give a reference, these staves are a minimum 7" across the back. Should I leave the bark on for now or remove? also, I need advice on ring chasing. The end pic below of the one stave shows 2 rings right under the sap wood but then the early growth takes over till I get about half way down? should I split the belly off to get to those thicker, denser rings? how would you handle this stave? thanks in advance

Offline JonW

Re: need advice on Black Locust staves
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2016, 11:34:07 pm »
Take the bark and sap wood off now if you can. Seal them good. I would let them dry for a while to reduce the chance of warpage. Later you can chase rings and split them again.

Offline ajooter

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2016, 07:47:53 am »
X2..after you get that done with all of them you can pick one stave and start chasing a ring...just make sure you seal the back and ends up good when your done!

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2016, 08:05:06 am »
From the looks of them upper rings I would take a belly split off 20/25 rings in, seal it good and go from there. JMO ;) :)
 Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Red Tailed Hawk

« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2016, 08:33:44 am »
From the looks of them upper rings I would take a belly split off 20/25 rings in, seal it good and go from there. JMO ;) :)
 Pappy