Author Topic: Arrow info?  (Read 3940 times)

Offline Justin.schmidt23

Arrow info?
« on: July 16, 2016, 06:59:21 pm »
Hello all, I'm extremely new to all this so bare with me please. I made a board bow a few years ago and plan on making anew osage here soon. I'd like to make my own arrows as well but the info on them seem to be more complex than making a bow lol. So is there a link or can someone inform me of everything I need to know? I'm planning on using some dowels from ace hardware or home depot. But I don't know what size to get. What size feathers do I use? There is an archery store down the road that sells the tips, knocks, feather, and jigs I just don't really know where to start. Thank you in advance.
"Good enough " is never good enough. Take pride in everything you do.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Arrow info?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2016, 07:29:07 pm »
You will have to use shafts that are close to the spine you need for your bow. If you can find an arrow that shoots well for you use it to compare the dowels to. You can make a simple spine tester by nailing 2 nails in the side of your work bench, long enough to support your shafts and 26" apart. Place the dowels across the nails and hang a 2# weight from the center and mark where the dowel bends to, the deflection.  By matching dowels to that mark you should be pretty close. The spine is calculated for a 28" arrow with a 125 gr point.
 Start with full length dowels. You can adjust the effective spine by adding or removing length by 5# per inch, ie. a dowel that spines 65# can be made to fly like the correctly spined arrow by adding 4" over 28"...so 32" arrow. You can add a heavier point to reduce the effective spine. That value is reduce or gain 5# of spine for each 25grs of tip weight over 125gr...so by adding a point that is 170gr your effective spine would be reduced by 10#.