Author Topic: adding some zip to my selfbow  (Read 7938 times)

Offline tankerjohn

adding some zip to my selfbow
« on: August 20, 2016, 09:58:19 am »
Hello primitive archers!  I new here, but this seemed like the best place to ask a question about improving bow performance.  I have a 77" tall hazel selfbow I've been shooting for about six months.  Its supposed to be 40#, but it doesn't feel like its pulling that much to me although I haven't measured it on a scale.  The performance of the bow seems extremely slow, even for a selfbow.  With a 29" arrow and shooting three-under, my point on is barely 20 yards.  Switching to split finger bumps the point on to 30 yards, but still with a slow, high arch.  I realize that a selfbow is never going to be a speed demon or even match my old glass-backed Bear, but it needs some spicing up.  I should add that I didn't make the bow and don't have any practical experience with tillering.  I've watched a few youtube videos on bow making and that's about it. 

Anyway, I'm thinking of doing one or more of the following to juice it a bit:

- change out the string to a fast flight with padded loops (the current string is very stretchy and I'm sure changing it would be a big help)
- toasting the belly with a heat gun
- moving the string nocks in an inch or so to decrease the length of the bow 

So my question for y'all who actually make bows and know what you're doing, what are the pitfalls associated with doing any of the above and would toasting the belly and/or cutting in new string nocks screw up the tiller? 

BTW, I haven't yet talked to the bowyer who made the bow and I'm not sure if I should.  I don't want it come across like "your bow sucks" and shipping it back to him to work on would be prohibitively expensive anyway.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: adding some zip to my selfbow
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2016, 10:09:52 am »