Author Topic: Stains, dyes and ?  (Read 2321 times)

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
Stains, dyes and ?
« on: January 08, 2017, 08:21:32 am »
I've been working on this HHB for a friend of mine. I have it shooting now and really close to done. He shot it yesterday and was very happy with it. He had a tri lam before and this bow looks like it fits him good. He doesn't want any skins or stain because he wants to do it himself. He owns a body shop and does amazing airbrush work and wants to airbrush his bow. (I'm afraid it won't look real primitive but I don't know what in his creative mind) . My question is what type of products a person could use. He asked about different stains but I thought for the base he's looking for maybe dyes would be better although I have Zero experience with them. My original thought was a light stain, a couple coats of tru oil scuff it with steel wool a then he could go crazy with his brush. I'm open to any suggestions I could offer him.
Bjrogg
PS here are some pictures of the naked bow with me drawing it. It's not a true full draw as my draw is about 2" less than his
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
Re: Stains, dyes and ?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2017, 08:29:49 am »
Oh by the way the tractor in background of unbraced and braced pictures is the first tractor my grandpa had on this farm brand new. It is a 1937 JD AR and arrived on this farm almost exactly 80 years ago just 2 months before my dad was born. It's been a few years since it's been running and time to get it going for dad's 80th birthday this June.

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2017, 08:33:08 am »
For dye all I've ever used has been fiebings leather dye and I bet HHB would take it well although I've never used it on HHB before.Some scraps around to test on are good to have.
BowEd
You got to stand for something or you'll fall for anything.
Ed

Offline BowEd

• BowEd
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2017, 08:38:10 am »