Author Topic: Finally got the time to shoot a bow  (Read 1129 times)

Offline hobbyaccumulator

Finally got the time to shoot a bow
« on: August 04, 2017, 08:00:17 pm »
So i've been pretty MIA since i finished roughing the riser on my first bow. I also posted a separate thread about an Internature Takedown Recurve i was gifted by my aunt - it's a 25# @28" 62" long takedown.

I finally found the time to go into a local shop and show off both my bow and my takedown. The owner helped me figure out that the twisting feeling it felt on my self bow might not be a limb problem but an non-level riser. I didn't even notice it until he pointed it out. He said it still could be a limb issue (he isn't a bowyer so he couldn't say for sure) but he did notice the riser was not level and suggested i carve out a thumb rest area for the flap between my thumb and index to rest so i am holding it consistently. He also suggested that since i was a very fresh beginner that i lay off the 43# selfbow until i get consistent shooting with the 25# takedown and i agreed.

He also took a look at my takedown and gave me some tips about how to shoot (like a mini lesson). He outfitted the riser with an arrow rest since it didn't have one and let me play with some different arrows and measured my draw length. I was very grateful to him and decided i'd purchase some arrows directly from him instead of deal-hunting online since he took the time to help me out. I got a half-dozen Easton XX75 Tribute size 1816 (30", 9.3 gr/in, 0.756 spine) for 40 bucks and then i rented a lane for an hour and shot the recurveuntil my hands hurt.

So it turns out shooting a bow is damn hard.