Author Topic: Harp  (Read 3644 times)

Offline Newindian

Harp
« on: December 20, 2017, 12:40:13 am »
I don’t know if y’all remember me, I’m an engineering student these days and haven’t had much time for personal projects. I once made a harp for a school project that was crap but was good enough for me to learn to play, since then I’ve decided to work on improving my instrument building . This is a harp I made for practice started about a year and a half ago, 33 strings 920lbs tension, pretty much made out of what you can get out of your local Lowe’s/homedepot. Harping build sure is more strict than bows.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2017, 12:47:17 am by Newindian »
I like free stuff.

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
Re: Harp
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2017, 05:28:15 am »
Very nice newindian, I'm sure Marc will be interested. He has built several he has post right here.
Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2017, 09:15:10 am »
That is a heck of a project. Beautiful looking.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Stoker

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2017, 09:58:43 am »
Very cool.. Says the guy that can't barely play the radio  :o
Thanks Leroy
Bacon is food DUCT tape - Cipriano

Offline Hawkdancer

« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2017, 10:52:28 am »
Congratulations!  I don't have the talent, skills, or tools and space to make a harp!  My harp was made by a friend who does and wanted to make a prototype, so I had him set it up for a left handed player, similar to a wire strung type.  I also have a "travel" model I am renting.  What type music do you play?  I am more into Celtic, and traditional folk music.  What sort of stand do you have on yours! 
Good luck with the engineering program!
Hawkdancer
Life is far too serious to be taken that way!
Jerry

Offline Chippintuff

« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2017, 12:14:13 pm »
That is beautiful work.