Author Topic: Tips to skinny?  (Read 2123 times)

Offline IrishJay

Tips to skinny?
« on: April 10, 2019, 03:33:10 pm »
I'm working on a black walnut r/d. So far it's my first attempt at a radically reflexed bow that I haven't broken a limb off of trying to shape in the flex. I did however get some cracking on the outside radius (belly side) on this limb. By the time I removed the damaged wood I was left with a 1/4" thick, by 3/8" wide tip, tapering up in both dimensions going toward the handle. Before any bending the stave measured 73" , the plan was 72" ntn, 50lbs @ 31". Do I still have enough wood left for that?

"The best camouflage pattern is called, 'Sit down and be quiet!' Your grandpa hunted deer in a red plaid coat, think about that for a second." - Fred Bear

Offline PatM

Re: Tips to skinny?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2019, 03:50:01 pm »
 I doubt it.

Offline DC

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2019, 04:00:08 pm »
Underlay, underlay ;D ;D

Offline IrishJay

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2019, 04:10:25 pm »
DC, I'm not firmiliar with how to do that, is it just a belly lamp on that skinny outer part of the limbs?
"The best camouflage pattern is called, 'Sit down and be quiet!' Your grandpa hunted deer in a red plaid coat, think about that for a second." - Fred Bear

Offline DC

« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2019, 04:13:02 pm »
Yup. People usually use darker wood and do both tips and just keep quiet about why they're there. ;)

Offline IrishJay

« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2019, 04:14:38 pm »
I have some red oak strips I saved from a board now project. Can I glue it up with TBII?

Offline bradsmith2010

« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2019, 04:20:08 pm »
titebond is good (-S

Offline DC

« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2019, 04:25:03 pm »