Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 3101 times)

Offline Ozi Sapling

Introduction
« on: June 17, 2019, 10:29:40 pm »
Hi all,
I've recently joined your fine forum after snooping around for a bit.
I thought it rude not to introduce myself before posting comments or asking questions. So here goes.....

I'm an aussie. I'm a total novice at bow making, here to learn from you fine people. But I seem to have caught the bug.  How do I know?
- 6 bow making books by my bed or on the coffee table
- hours 'wasted' watching u-tube videos on bow making (my wife scratching her head wondering what's going on)
- a serious increase in 'shed time' creating shavings (with no idea really about what I'm doing)
- spending time scouring second-hand stores for old spoke shaves, draw knives, scales in pounds, etc....
- carrying a small saw in the car in case I see the perfect stave......

My dream: to one day make a Yew warbow with horn nocks.
My understanding of reality: lots of failures and rubbish bows between now and then!!

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2019, 12:45:14 am »
Hi, good to have you on board.
Sounds like you have the right idea... just jump in and have a go, the first attempts will help you learn the process...
It takes some time to get your eye in, but doing it is the only real way.
Google "Bowyers Diary" to see what I do, failures and all :)
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2019, 03:01:54 am »
Welcome to PA Ozi Sapling. Got a few others here from down under. They have been experimenting with local woods.

Yes it does sound like you have the symptoms. The only cure is to make enough shavings to get yourself a good shooter. It actually won't cure anything, but it'll make you feel really good. Then you'll want to continue to make shavings and more n better shooters. I don't think there is a cure. But we can treat the symptoms.