Author Topic: Made my first Warbow: 138 lb Maple @ 33" Flatbow  (Read 2488 times)

Offline bowman123

Made my first Warbow: 138 lb Maple @ 33" Flatbow
« on: October 10, 2019, 11:39:52 am »
Video of my 138 lb @33 maple bow:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ibtbmEIggA
 measured with a tension scale using the arrow as a reference

This is my first warbow ever made. I am a beginner in warbow making and would like to get any advice!

I've backed bows with sinew before for lighter pounds but sinew is so expensive

total cost was 50$ including the wood and backing and other stuff

I think good quality maple can make warbows if its overbuilt but I backed it to be safe
also I define a warbow as anything +100lbs, doesn't need to be English longbow's cross section because the word "war" doesn't explicitly need a specific culture

« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 01:14:23 pm by bowman123 »

Offline bowman123

Re: Made my first Warbow: 138lb Maple backed with Bondo Fibreglass lol
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2019, 11:52:49 am »
also I have some Elm do you think this would be better at making a 150lb+ warbow?

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Made my first Warbow: 138 lb Maple @ 33" Flatbow
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2019, 12:07:33 pm »
Few things. First, we are not allowed to post bows with fiberglass on the limbs, its a forum rule. Good chance this gets moved or removed. Secondly, the "War bow" section is the place to ask your questions. That is were the experts hang out.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline bowman123

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2019, 01:12:07 pm »
can someone move this to the warbow section