Author Topic: Horn crossbow?  (Read 14651 times)

Offline Hamish

Re: Horn crossbow?
« Reply #15 on: May 14, 2020, 05:12:49 pm »
 I am aware of the brick pattern horn used with horn crossbows. There is a good book, in German, Die Hornbogenarmbrust, by Holger Richter that shows historical examples of it and how to reconstruct one.

I have often wondered why they didn't use the method used for Asiatic horn composite flight , hunting and warbows, with the full length of horn, and a stiff wooden core, backed with sinew. Whether it was due to not getting enough draw weight, was my guess, I had not considered the potential for delamination, as I have no experience with making horn bows.

Regular horn/sinew composites seem to be able to have extremely long draw lengths, for the shortness of the bow, so its probably possible for a hunting weight bow, maybe not for a bow suitable for dealing with plate armour, or a siege artillery weight bow? Just a thought.

Offline Hamish

« Reply #16 on: May 14, 2020, 05:19:22 pm »
Hi Arvin, It looks like you have backed the top 2 bows in your photo, with horn(or is it some other material)? If true, how do they perform?

I have heard of baleen being used as a backing(and a belly too). I have often wondered how horn would go as a backing.

Offline Selfbowman

« Reply #17 on: May 14, 2020, 06:14:17 pm »
Hamash the black bows are backed with Gemsbok. The bamboo backed bow has gemsbok on the belly. It also has a bamboo core. Pretty lite in mass has good cast. The Osage backed with gemsbok real descent cast. I put gemsbok on the belly of a Osage selfbow it broke records but had less performance than the other  combinations. The boo backed had the best performance.it has not been officially been shot at a flight shoot yet.

Bownara is the all horn doggy because of mass. I found the horn to be heavy. Gemsbok seams to work better on the back of wood. But the belly of bamboo.
Arvin
Well I'll say!!  Osage is king!!

Offline Selfbowman