Author Topic: Draw length  (Read 2822 times)

Offline Fox

Draw length
« on: September 04, 2021, 11:53:44 pm »
my draw length seems to keep settling at 24" which I don't like, but I am so much more accurate at this short draw, when I'm drawing 27" I can't even hit the target, wheres I've got a 6" group out to 20 yards with a 24" draw... I really worry about arrow speed though, for hunting, my bows are all 50@26" so 45@24 ish... is that going to be okay for whitetail?

My next thought is that I should try shooting lower weight bows and 26-27" and see if I shoot better? 50# isnt uncomfertable at all and i've been shooting that weight for 2 years so it seems odd that it would be too heavy, but could that be my issue?

any insight to these issues would be wonderful :)
Why must we make simple things so complicated?

bownarra

Re: Draw length
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2021, 02:26:49 am »
You test drawlength on a bow that is very weak. Waste of time trying to do it on a heavy bow.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2021, 04:35:30 am »
IMO.
You will never shoot better with a longer draw until it becomes the draw you always use.
It's like trying to shoot left handed, you'll be hopeless... but if you continue to do it you will eventually become proficient.
It's not the "draw" so much as the aiming with a different anchor.
If you want to shoot with a longer draw, just do it and stop going back to the short draw.
It really is that simple...
Del

Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Don W

• diy.timetestedtools.net/
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2021, 08:41:27 am »
What do you use for an anchor at each weight? At age 16 you still have some growing to do. It would be a shame to go through the exercise of changing your anchor, only to want to change it back in a couple years.

Don

Offline bassman211

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2021, 09:21:41 am »