Author Topic: Wild apple bow design ?  (Read 5477 times)

Offline freke

Wild apple bow design ?
« on: February 04, 2022, 11:52:12 am »
Hi,
I have got my hands over a stave of wild apple, it has dried for about two years and I think its soon time to start working but I have no experience with apple and what dimensions, length with etc so I hope someone can share some advice as I have find very little information, have seen few really stunning bows made and want to try it out.

It is nearly straight and a minor correction in handle section should be enough, and no twist or checks but the back has several small knots that I think should be fine if I can avoid damage em durring build.
The diameter is about 2 1/2",  It has a deflexed center area and if I use the deepest point the stave would allow up to about 72" ntn although I prefer 68" or bellow.
My draw is length is 28" and would target 50-60# if material allow.

My thinking was to keep the natural deflex middy section and add long reflex tips so final result is slightly positive reflexed, what concerns me is that I not really know how wide I need to make the limbs and if the crown is an issue, please advice?

Thanks in advance,
Jonas

Offline Hamish

Re: Wild apple bow design ?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2022, 09:30:36 pm »
I haven't used apple for a bow yet(I do have a bunch of crab apple billets seasoning).
Stemmler, a bowyer, author mentions it as a genuine bow wood. It will definitely make a flatbow, and I suspect it might make a good bow of English design(narrow and thick).

Reported to be very easy to bend corrections with heat.

Offline Gordon

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2022, 02:04:00 am »
Wild apple wood will make a fine bow.
Gordon

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2022, 06:40:29 am »