Author Topic: black locust flatbow build  (Read 2400 times)

Offline Zugul

black locust flatbow build
« on: October 14, 2022, 12:25:19 pm »
So, I've started this new project after srewing up a cuple of bows in the last year. All the bows I have mede to this day fretted or came out very low poundage. My goal with this one is to get 40-45# at 28" with low enough set and no frets, hopefully. Since I'm not very experienced I opted for a safe design: 68 1/2" TTT, 67" NTN, 2" wide at fades and 5/8" at the tips. I've made some tweeks to its shape with a heat gun since it was a bit out of alignement and had some twist where the grain flowed around a knot. I could not take off all the twist so should I leave the side where the belly "dips" a bit thicker to avoid the wood getting pinched or not? I've used my fingers to gauge the thickness taper until now, in the future I'll switch to a caliper and try to make it as even as possible. should I leave a little extra wood where there are bumps on the back to avoid the belly getting pinched or do I have to chase the perfect thickness taper? I want to take it super slowly with this stave since I don't have meny left, and this is the best one  :BB Feel free to make constructive criticism about my work, I know it's far from being perfect and I'm willing to learn  ;). Wish you all a good weekend and a lot of good bows!

before straightening
20220906_103808 by Mattia Zuccolo, su Flickr

after straightening
20221014_171715 by Mattia Zuccolo, su Flickr

how the twisty part appeared before, now the twist is approximatly half as much
20220906_103712 by Mattia Zuccolo, su Flickr

same spot, viewed frontally
20220906_103743 by Mattia Zuccolo, su Flickr

on the tillering tree, the string is loose and hanging just shy of the 6" mark (top limb on the left)
arco a riposo by Mattia Zuccolo, su Flickr