Author Topic: Are we not seeing enough beginners bows?  (Read 4438 times)

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
Are we not seeing enough beginners bows?
« on: December 15, 2023, 05:09:26 pm »
Or, is this site slowing down?  All the bows I have seen posted here for a while now have been stunning.  Way past anything I have made.  Now, this is fantastic on one level, gives us something to aspire to, maybe.  It might just be me, but I wonder if it is also bad for the site.  When I started out there were plenty of us novices posting indifferent bows, and getting really kind feedback.  I wonder if novices aren’t posting so much any more?  I still post pretty much everything I make, but as I only make a couple a year, I don’t really post that often. I would say I am pretty much still a novice, although I’ve been building since maybe 2016 and am still happy to ask for help  Weirdly, I’m asking for people to just post stuff here, not just their best stuff. I only belong to a few forums and several have died as people stopped posting stuff.  They just slowed down and quietly slipped away
« Last Edit: December 15, 2023, 05:14:32 pm by stuckinthemud »

Offline Gordon

Re: Are we not seeing enough beginners bows?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2023, 05:13:02 pm »
Food for thought...
Gordon

Offline Hamish

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2023, 05:25:00 pm »
The quality of beginners bows seem much higher in quality than they did in the past. I guess this is due to how much information there is on this and other sites, that help them avoid most of the pitfalls that we went through.
Also newer bowyers may not be posting their learning experience bows, that broke, or had excessive stringfollow. They could be just posting the first bow they feel confident with.

Offline stuckinthemud

• avenue woodcarving
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2023, 05:38:58 pm »