Author Topic: Elm elb 2 (repair possible?)  (Read 1927 times)

Offline Calios

Elm elb 2 (repair possible?)
« on: April 05, 2024, 06:42:46 pm »
Hi everyone, novice here, it's been a while since last posted on the forum, but trying to get back to bowmaking by taking up an old project i set aside some time ago. I am working with quite a challenging wonky piece of elm, hoping to get an english longbow out of it.

It's 65 inches of total lenght, and I'm aiming for a 45# at 27. I am still in the early stages of tillering, but i doubt it is gonna make it, as it presents some big knots and a twist along the upper limb. Moreover there's a section of the bottom limb (right limb in photo) with some very fragile wood (rotten wood?), which I tried to get steady with, hoping i could solve it by proceeding with tillering and controlled wood removal. At first i was quite optimistic with how it was behaving, however it created a severe hinge after i strung it, and has recently cracked, so I immediately stopped to heave it.

Now i am not sure on how to continue or if it's a no go by now, but i would really like to save it if i can. I would really appriciate some support, thanks for any feedback.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2024, 07:27:03 pm by Calios »

Offline Calios

Re: Elm elb 2
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2024, 06:46:18 pm »
Will post more once i get the images compressed
« Last Edit: April 05, 2024, 07:10:23 pm by Calios »

Offline Calios

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2024, 07:13:24 pm »
last tillering and crack

Offline Calios

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2024, 07:18:58 pm »
more about the crack

Offline Muskyman

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2024, 07:31:03 pm »
Well that sucks. Was that a knot or just a funky spot in the stave?

Offline Calios

« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2024, 07:41:07 pm »
At first I thought it might be some bug work, i then realized it was brittle, and dark, and easy to lift and remove.

Offline medicinewheel

« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2024, 03:32:03 am »