Author Topic: Snakeskin backings  (Read 11014 times)

Offline diegosdaddy

Snakeskin backings
« on: September 14, 2008, 11:12:55 pm »
I'm contemplating putting some snakeskins on a bow to dress it up a little and hide a patch.  I have never done this before and was thinking that if I put the skins on, it would probably quickly wear out beneath the top nock, due to bracing and unbracing the bow.  Seems to me there's a lot of pressure put on the back by the string and ones hand when bracing in particular in this area.  Of course i"m talking about the push pull method of stringing.  I suppose you could be careful and always use a bow stringer, but I don't always have a bow stringer with me.  Anybody ever have any problems with this or any thoughts?  Thanks,  Bill

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Snakeskin backings
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 12:14:27 am »
Bill, I usually leave the last 6" of each tip without skin on it and put a wrap around the end. I like the look of the bows bare tips plus it makes it easier to brace.
   The bow below has cherry bark backing but you can see what I mean. I do this with snake skins also.       Pat

[attachment deleted by admin]
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline diegosdaddy

« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2008, 12:49:20 pm »
thanks Pat.  I think your way is the way to go. I have seen recently on this site bows backed with snakeskins right up to the nocks.  I for one can't brace my bows without a lot of string friction in that area and it just seems that it would shortly start to wear the skin off.  Bill

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2008, 01:08:39 pm »