Author Topic: quartz broadheads?  (Read 3740 times)

Offline ballista

• freedom isnt free
quartz broadheads?
« on: October 20, 2008, 06:44:28 pm »
 hey guys,
 today I was in earth science, and they were passign around a beautiful hunk of glassy obsidian. the though going through my head was, of course, broadheads. so i asked my sciance teacher where me and a buddy of mine could fine some. here in illinois, theres rock quarries everywhere. obsidian isn't really available, but there's a huge,huge abundance of quartz. we have to climb over a fence to get it, but its in the juk pile, and its on a paved biketrail ;D so, if anyone has used it or know someone that has had experience ith t, can you give some advise? I'm pretty new to flintnapping, also.  -jimmy
Walk slowly, with a big stick. -Ted Rosevelt.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: quartz broadheads?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 10:04:05 pm »
  Yep, it makes nice, pretty points. It depends on what grade it is and in your case how much blasting fractured it. Can you post some pictures?
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 10:46:25 pm »
Quartz can make good points, but it's tough to knap-not beginner material. Illinois , especially the southern part, has some good chert that is excellent knapping material.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline ballista

• freedom isnt free
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 12:08:58 am »