Author Topic: Had to be an "Oak" this afternoon  (Read 8353 times)

Offline Mechslasher

Had to be an "Oak" this afternoon
« on: October 20, 2008, 10:02:11 pm »
got permission to hunt an area across some railroad tracks i've been eyeing for the past two years.  the fellow just ask that i call before i go hunting on his place.  i've spoken with him several times in the past couple weeks and this afternoon he asked that i not shoot anything under 15".  this was the first time he had mentioned that but i told him that it wouldn't be a problem because i don't have much luck with bucks.  you can guess the results of this afternoons hunt.  about 6 i looked up and saw some feet coming through one of my blind spots.  it was coming down a trail that i scouted yesterday and it must have smelled me (even after 24 hours) because it slammed on breaks and started looking around.  it turned around and trotted straight into one of my shooting lanes.  it stopped about 12 yards out slightly quartering away.  you guessed it, the buck only had a 13" rack.  i bent the string on him, twice, but didn't let the arrow fly!  i watched him wonder off and kicked myself several times for not letting the arrow fly.  this was a tough hunt to say the least.
"A liberal is someone who feels a great debt to his fellow man, which debt he proposes to pay off with your money." 

G. Gordon Liddy

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
Re: Had to be an "Oak" this afternoon
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2008, 08:13:29 am »
Tough luck, but you did the right thing...probably would have loss your hunting spot if you'd taken the deer.
Greg

A rich person can be poor monetarily, the best things in life are free...

Offline cowboy

• Paul Wolfe. Springtown, TX
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2008, 09:04:47 am »
That is tough. I hate antler restriction's - aught to be able to shoot whatever steps out if ya have a tag or want some meat.
When you come upon a track or trail you do not know, follow it to the point of knowing.