Author Topic: stone tool, edge holding ability  (Read 3470 times)

Offline ozy clint

stone tool, edge holding ability
« on: October 31, 2008, 01:54:56 am »
gday everyone, i've never knapped before in my life, so i don't know much. please forgive my naiveity. i've been shooting traditional for about 9 months now. i'm in love with it. my curiousity with all things primitive is growing rapidly and would love to one day hunt with a selfbow and primitive arrows. my question is this- what is the edge holding ability like on stone knifes and arrow points. does the original edge remain lethally sharp for years of normal use or do they require a 'touch up' now and then? thanks

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: stone tool, edge holding ability
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 08:11:06 am »
  If you mean" normal use" as in sticking stuff, they will get dull or broke. If you mean just carrying them around a few years in your quiver and not shooting them then they would be fine. They might get chipped a little but that would just make another sharp edge.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 10:05:20 am »
Stone doesn't hold an edge like steel-that's one reason steel is in common use. It depends a lot on the type of stone, too-something like rhyolite  or raw chert willl hold an edge longer than softer, heat-treated chert. Like Eddie said, a break often exposes new sharp edges. It's not much trouble to resharpen them, either. You can resharpen hafted points without much work. I carry a really fine-tipped pressure flaker in my hunting stuff, it only takes a minute to run a series of micro-flakes down the edge of an arrowhead to touch it up.
Smoky Mountains, NC

NeolithicHillbilly@gmail.com

Progress might have been all right once but it's gone on for far too long.

Offline ozy clint

« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 08:59:19 pm »