Author Topic: Advice on Elm  (Read 3315 times)

Papa Matt

Advice on Elm
« on: November 18, 2008, 04:32:56 pm »
Brothers, in a few weeks I'll be starting on my first Elm bow(s). I've never worked with Elm before, and want to approach it with as much knowledge as possible.

My logs are about 5 inches wide, still have bark on, ends were never sealed and only have some little cracks visible in the center. Wood was cut last March. About 6' long. Does Elm tend to split well, to where it would be advisable to split the log a couple times, or at least once, and get 2 or maybe 4 staves from it?

And then, is it like hickory, to where you just take the bark off and the first good ring is your back?

As always I appreciate any advice brothers..

~~Papa Matt

Bowbound

Re: Advice on Elm
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2008, 04:36:17 pm »
From what I have heard elm is very hard to split at all. It is up to you on how many bows you think you can get from it. Other guys will probably chime in. Elm is good to go after you remove the bark. That is all.

Papa Matt

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2008, 04:44:22 pm »
Cool, thanks for the advice, Limey. I almost hope everyone talks me out of splitting it, cause I've heard it's hard as well, but at the same time I really hate the idea of throwing all that other wood away.

Offline knightd

• www.primalneedarchery.com
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2008, 04:50:41 pm »
SAW IT !!

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2008, 06:18:31 pm »
My experience is with cedar elm....splits OK when green and it a real bugger when dry.  There doesn't appear to be much twist with elm, so you're pretty safe if you saw it.  Peel the bark when green.....there may be problems with bugs if you don't.
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank