Author Topic: Hawthorne Flatbow - Not for BOM  (Read 11722 times)

Offline robbsbass

Re: Hawthorne Flatbow
« Reply #15 on: November 25, 2008, 11:26:25 am »
Gordon you have done it again with another beautiful bow and one to be proud of. The colour and the wraps really set it off.

Robb
live each day the best you can

Offline Blacktail

« Reply #16 on: November 25, 2008, 11:46:37 am »
holy crap gordon..that is a master peice...that is great work...i really think you should  give up the day job and make bows. ;D...so,what is hawthorne...i will have to look that one up...thanks for sharing. john

Offline Okie

• Bear Creek Selfbows
« Reply #17 on: November 25, 2008, 11:55:31 am »
Beautiful bow. The dye job really sets it off.

John
Take a kid huntin' (If not who'll drag your deer out when you get old)
<---------<<<Founding Member Oklahoma Selfbow Society>>>-----------> Vice President OSS

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #18 on: November 25, 2008, 12:30:09 pm »
Gorgeous! Glad to see hawthorn being used. I'm working on one right now and am impressed with this piece of hawthorn.
Great candidate for BOM.
Pay attention, everybody, to how Gordon takes great pictures. Closeup, good light,  and no messy workshops and laundry in the background.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline JBL

« Reply #19 on: November 25, 2008, 12:38:02 pm »
Now that is a pretty bow.  I have never seen hawthorne used before, but than again I am pretty new at this game.

Offline Gordon

« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2008, 12:51:22 pm »
Keenan, I firmly believe that the fixing of problems is a important as the building. I’ve examined a few bows that John Strunk has “reconditioned” and you cannot even tell that they have been repaired – that’s what we should strive for IMO.

Thank you Rick. It is not necessary to remove wood under the wraps. The wraps have no effect at all on the tiller.