Author Topic: First Boo/Ipe  (Read 7803 times)

Offline Jesse

Re: First Boo/Ipe
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2009, 10:59:35 pm »
Talk to Rich Saffold. He has made some that shoot even faster. He has one that is 9 years old, still has its same r/d shape and shoots in the high 190's?????
Sorry if you took that the wrong way. I just meant it is very uncommon to hit speeds like that with more than 10 grains per pound and only a 26" draw. Not saying yours doesn't. ;)  Just would not have guessed it. So great job :)
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #16 on: March 17, 2009, 11:21:35 am »
Good pictures for a really nice laminate bow. Gotcha bookmarked for March LamBOM fun, too.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Rich Saffold

« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2009, 06:22:19 pm »
Took me a while to be able to get logged back onto this forum..

Your bow looks real sweet Bill, and looks like you got all the little things right which can make for a fast bow.

I've seen 26' draw bows hit those speeds with that arrow weight, and I think 28" is more optimum for 650-750gr. speed wise on these laminate bows..Selfbows are a little different in this aspect..Strings, loose skill, arrow spine, relative humidity all play into speed so I don't get too excited about high numbers and  don't get down if they aren't smoking feathers..

Sweetness of shot, accuracy and durability mean more to me. Speed is just the by-product. Of course its fun to warm up next to glass bow archers at a big meet with bows like these... ;) Especially the snobs.... ;D

I think both modern and Elb styles can work with this thin limb. I just keep the belly flat on the modern style, and use a shorter limb length. I have a 55# 70"ntn  modern style  with 3/4" wide limbs and It's quite fun to shoot..

Rich

whitewoodshunter

« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2009, 06:54:21 pm »