Author Topic: Fletching with silk?  (Read 5584 times)

Offline TRACY

Fletching with silk?
« on: April 03, 2009, 12:45:59 pm »
I see folks with arrows that are hand fletched with silk thread spiraled through the feathers for attachment. I've never fletched this way and I'm interested in giving it a try.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you , Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline Little John

Re: Fletching with silk?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2009, 10:45:27 am »
I am no expert here but I can get then done. Best thing I can sugest is just to get after it and learn from your mistakes. Nothing lost and you will get better soon. I have used fletching jigs and then added the thread also Processed the feathers by hand then hand fletched then wraped with string and all inbetween. I once took raw arrow materials on an elk hunt and made a few around the campfire durind the middle of the day and hunted with them that afternoon.  Kenneth
May all of your moments afield with bow in hand please and satisfy you.            G. Fred Asbell

Offline TRACY

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 07:45:01 am »
Thanks LJ. I've been getting a lot of experience with turkey feathers and sinew on cane and really enjoy/appreciate the end result. You're right, I'll just have at it and learn by my mistakes. Too many interests and not nearly enough time ;D

Offline DanaM

« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2009, 07:57:22 am »
I glue the feather down first, make sure the quills are nice and flat on the front and back so the silk will lay nice.
You can measure and mark the shaft so the spacing is even but I just start wrapping and do it by eye, I use a tooth pick to
seperate the barbs as needed. I also loosely clamp the shaft in a vice so I can rotate it. Have fun eh :)
"Prosperity is a way of living and thinking, and not just money or things. Poverty is a way of living and thinking, and not just a lack of money or things."

Manistique, MI

Offline TRACY