Author Topic: Dowel rods  (Read 9966 times)

CodyCoyote

Dowel rods
« on: August 02, 2009, 09:20:54 pm »
Im new to making arrows but im making a bow So i will need arrows, can I buy dowel rods from a hardware store and use that for arrow shafts? I cant find river cane to use.  Also how do you fletch your arrows? Do you use a jig or wing it? Will crow wing feathers make good fletchings? I didnt save the feathers from the turkey I shot.

Offline ZanderPommo

Re: Dowel rods
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2009, 09:58:26 pm »
you'de have to spine them (match their bendieness to your bows draw weight) or it could be a dangerous thing to do

im gonna order bulk dowels b/c i just built a spine tester, they work fine if spined

CodyCoyote

« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2009, 09:59:46 pm »
Any other cheap easy way to make arrows that wont blow up on me?

Offline ZanderPommo

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2009, 10:15:27 pm »
make a spine tester :D
been there, thought that ::)

its honestly really easy

Offline ZanderPommo

« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2009, 10:23:42 pm »

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2009, 11:44:51 pm »
You can make very good arrows from dowels if you are particular about picking them out. Find ones that don't have severe grain run offs and that feel about the same when you bend them. If they are too stiff you can sand the center of the shaft to reduce the spine.
  Initially, leave the dowels long then reduce the length until you find a length that shoots best or your bow at your draw length.
   Depending on the draw weight of your bow, 5/16" to 3/8" dowels work best for arrows.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline billy

« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2009, 01:11:58 am »